Quiz: How Much Do You Know about Ranji Trophy?


Hi, The Ranji Trophy is the most prestigious domestic cricket tournament in India. Named after the Maharaja of Nawanagar, it was first played in 1934–35. The Ranji Trophy is open to all Indian first-class cricket teams. The title has been won by different teams since its inception, with Mumbai winning the most championships (41). In this post, we take a look at some of the greatest players to have ever played in the Ranji Trophy.

Ranji Trophy – A Legend in Indian Cricket

The Ranji Trophy is India’s oldest domestic cricket tournament, and it’s named after one of the country’s most iconic cricketers: Maharaja Shivaji Rao Gaekwad, who was popularly known as Ranji. The first-ever Ranji Trophy match was played in 1935 between Mumbai and Madras, and the trophy was eventually won by Mumbai.

The Ranji Trophy is now considered one of the most prestigious cricket tournaments in the world, and it has produced some of India’s most legendary cricketers. Over the years, it has seen some truly amazing performances from players like Sachin Tendulkar, Sunil Gavaskar, Virender Sehwag, and Virat Kohli.

What is the Ranji trophy?

The Ranji Trophy is the most important domestic cricket competition in India. Named after the first Indian cricketer to be knighted, The Ranji Trophy is open to all Indian states and territories. The tournament was founded in 1935, and the first-ever winners were Muslims from western India. The trophy is a bronze statue of Sir Ranjitsinji, and the competition is divided into 4 divisions: Elite, Plate, Group A, and Group B.

The Teams Involved in Ranji Trophy

The Ranji Trophy is a cricket tournament that is contested between Indian states. The teams involved in the tournament are: • Gujarat • Bengal • Mumbai • Tamil Nadu • Karnataka • Madhya Pradesh • Hyderabad • Uttar Pradesh • Punjab • Haryana The most successful team in the Ranji Trophy is Mumbai, who have won the title on 41 occasions.

Also Read:– Sunrisers Hyderabad 2022 Squad...

Winners of the Ranji Trophy you should know!

The tournament was first played in 1934-35, with the Moin-ud-Dowlah Gold Cup being the predecessor of the Ranji Trophy. The title was won by Maharaja Bhupinder Singh of Patiala. In the inaugural edition, only teams from the then British Raj were competing.

The Indian Cricket Team made its Ranji Trophy debut in December 1934 against a touring MCC side. The Ranji Trophy is named after Sir Jamsetji Nusserwanji Tata, who contributed a lot to Indian cricket and was also the founder of Tata Group. Mumbai (then Bombay) has won the most Ranji Trophies, followed by Delhi and Karnataka.

Let’s talk about more important topics of the Ranji Trophy!

  • Ranji trophy is associated with-

Ranji Trophy is an annual cricket tournament played in India. Named after the Maharaja of the former princely state of Nawanagar, the Ranji Trophy is India’s oldest and most prestigious domestic cricket competition. The trophy is awarded to the winners of the tournament. The Ranji Trophy is also associated with some of India’s most legendary cricketers, including Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid, Sunil Gavaskar, and Kapil Dev.

Ranji Trophy is related to which game?

The Ranji Trophy is a domestic first-class cricket championship in India contested between the various state cricket teams of India. The competition is named after Kumar Shri Ranji Singh, who was one of the most famous Indian cricketers of all time and the founder of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). The Ranji Trophy is one of the most important tournaments in Indian cricket and has seen many legendary cricketers play in it over the years.

Ranji trophy selection process

The first Ranji Trophy tournament was held in 1935-36. The selection process for the Ranji Trophy team is quite complicated. There are a few different factors that are taken into account while selecting the team. These factors include the player’s performance in domestic cricket tournaments, the player’s age, and the player’s availability.

Ranji trophy 2017

It is one of the major domestic cricket tournaments in India and is named after the first Indian Test cricketer, Dr. Sir Ranjitsinhji. The 2017–18 Ranji Trophy is the 84th season of the Ranji Trophy. The tournament began on 1 October 2017, with the final scheduled for 26 January 2018. The defending champions are Vidarbha. The following teams will compete in the tournament: The top 6 teams from the group stage will progress to the knockout stage.


The Ranji Trophy is a domestic first-class cricket championship in India. The title is currently contested by teams representing regional cricket associations. The trophy is associated with legends of Indian cricket like Vijay Hazare, Sunil Gavaskar, Sachin Tendulkar, and Mahendra Singh Dhoni.

The tournament is named after Maurice “Maurice” Ranji, who was an Indian cricketer who played for the British Army in India. The Ranji Trophy is one of the oldest cricket tournaments in the world and is known for producing some of the best cricket players in the world. Thanks:)

5/5 - (1 vote)
Spread the love

Hi, I am The Owner of this blog. I have great expertise in various topics like NBA, Cricket and other sports as well. This blog is a knowledge hub for sports lovers. You will get interesting and useful information here..

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

PM Modi Launches 5G Services in India: Key Highlights NBA Rumours Update: Markel Fultz won’t need surgery for toe injury Will the NBA have an expansion team? Let’s Checkout NFL World Reacts To New T.J. Watt Video