Retained Players For Delhi Capitals In IPL 2022

Hello friends, In this article, You will know about Retained Players of Delhi capitals in IPL 2022. The IPL has announced its list of players retained by the franchises for the IPL 2022 tournament.

Delhi Capitals, who had finished fourth in the IPL 2019 tournament, have retained their captain Shreyas Iyer, Australia’s Aaron Finch, South Africa’s Quinton de Kock, New Zealand’s Colin Munro, India’s Rishabh Pant, Pakistan’s Hussain Talat, and South Africa’s Kagiso Rabada. So, let’s explore your douts in this article…

Overview of Delhi Capitals team…

The Delhi Capitals are an Indian professional cricket team based in Delhi, the capital of India. The Delhi Capitals are one of the eight teams that will compete in the Indian Premier League (IPL) from 2020 to 2023. The Delhi Capitals franchise is owned by Sports, a subsidiary of the JSW Group. The team’s home ground is the Feroz Shah Kotla Ground in Delhi.

Also Check:– IPL 2022 Ahemdabad Team Players List

List of Uncapped players in IPL 2022 Auction

The Delhi Capitals have announced their retained players for the upcoming edition of the Indian Premier League. The core of the team has been retained, with Prithvi Shaw, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant, Avesh Khan, and Khaleel Ahmed all playing a part in the retention strategy.

The team also announced that they have put the remaining players in the auction pool. Interestingly, the Delhi Capitals have not retained any of their big overseas stars, with Colin Ingram, JP Duminy, and Kagiso Rabada all entering the auction. The team has, however, picked up a few uncapped Indian players, who will be looking to make an impact in the IPL.

Delhi capitals in IPL 2022 Know the truth

Selection of Retained Players

Delhi Capitals announced that they have retained these players for IPL 2022.

Players retained by Delhi Capitals are:-

  • Rishabh Pant – INR 16 cr.
  • Axar Patel – INR 9 cr.
  • Prithvi Shaw – INR 7.5 cr.
  • Anrich Nortje – INR 6.5 cr.

The decision was made keeping in mind the team’s strategy for the next edition of the tournament. The team’s management felt that these three players were the core of the side and they will play a crucial role in Delhi’s campaign in IPL 2022.

Players ignored by Delhi Capitals in IPL 2022

There are a few players who were ignored by the Delhi Capitals management in the IPL retention process. Some of these players are very talented and could have been a great asset to the team.

Players like Ambati Rayudu and Mohammed Shami were all ignored by the team. It will be very interesting to see how the Delhi Capitals perform in the IPL without these key players in the squad.

Players bought by Delhi Capitals

In IPL 2020, Delhi Capitals had a dismal season as they could win only 6 of their 14 games and finished at the bottom of the points table. They released all their players except Shreyas Iyer and Rishabh Pant. Delhi Capitals has now announced the list of players retained for IPL 2022. The team has bought back Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant, Prithvi Shaw, Amit Mishra, and Avesh Khan. The team has also roped in Colin Ingram, Axar Patel, and Keemo Paul.

Delhi Capitals Full squad

Delhi Capitals retained both their captain and vice-captain from the previous season, with Shreyas Iyer and Rishabh Pant both being retained. The team also retained the bulk of their squad from the previous season.

Other than the three players who were bought by Mumbai Indians at the auction, Delhi Capitals have the entire squad from IPL 2021. This gives them a good head start for the next season and a good chance of doing well.

  • Delhi Capitals Matches Fixtures 2022
DateMatches Stadium Name
March 27, 2022Delhi Capitals vs Mumbai IndiansBrabourne – CCI
April 2, 2022Gujarat Titans vs Delhi CapitalsMCA Stadium, Pune
April 7, 2022Lucknow Super Giants vs Delhi CapitalsDY Patil Stadium
April 10, 2022Kolkata Knight Riders vs Delhi CapitalsBrabourne – CCI
April 16, 2022Delhi Capitals vs Royal Challengers BangaloreWankhede Stadium
April 20, 2022Delhi Capitals vs Punjab KingsMCA Stadium, Pune
April 22, 2022Delhi Capitals vs Rajasthan RoyalsMCA Stadium, Pune
April 28, 2022Delhi Capitals vs Kolkata Knight RidersWankhede Stadium
May 1, 2022Delhi Capitals vs Lucknow Super GiantsWankhede Stadium
May 5, 2022Delhi Capitals vs Sunrisers HyderabadBrabourne – CCI
May 8, 2022Chennai Super Kings vs Delhi CapitalsDY Patil Stadium
May 11, 2022Rajasthan Royals vs Delhi CapitalsDY Patil Stadium
May 16, 2022Punjab Kings vs Delhi CapitalsDY Patil Stadium
May 21, 2022Mumbai Indians vs Delhi CapitalsWankhede Stadium

Delhi batting line-up

The Delhi batting line-up will look very different in the next IPL season as they have only retained 3 players. Shreyas Iyer will continue to lead the batting order and he will be supported by Rishabh Pant and Prithvi Shaw.

Delhi will have to look for a new opening partner for Prithvi Shaw as Shikhar Dhawan was traded to Mumbai Indians. The batting order will be completed by Chris Morris, Axar Patel, and Jalaj Saxena. Delhi Capitals will have to find new players to strengthen their batting line-up.


Delhi Capitals has announced the retained players for the Indian Premier League 2022. Today, Delhi Capitals announced their squad and list of retained players.

The team bought some new faces like Hanuma Vihari and Avesh Khan while they kept some old names in the squad like Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant, etc.

So, I hope guys your queries are solved in this article. Your friend will be back again with interesting IPL 2022 News or information. Stay tune:)

5/5 - (1 vote)
Spread the love

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

PM Modi Launches 5G Services in India: Key Highlights NBA Rumours Update: Markel Fultz won’t need surgery for toe injury Will the NBA have an expansion team? Let’s Checkout NFL World Reacts To New T.J. Watt Video